Season 5 repeat!

It was a slightly dull mood compared to the first second leg match of the Mascom Top 8 semi-finals which had Township Rollers FC going against Jwaneng Galaxy FC, the defending champions who were unable to retain their title by at least securing a spot at the final. The match that preceded the Orapa United FC versus Gaborone United FC was won by Township Rollers who proceeded to the final.

The match started off on a rather dull mood with very supporters compared to the Township Rollers FC versus Jwaneng Galaxy FC which had a more supporters in attendance. Orapa United FC though playing away seemingly had a greater support base than the host Gaborone United FC. From the onset the two teams had a near equal chance at goal, with GU slightly ahead but unable to penetrate the Orapa United FC defence. Their attempts however were not in vain as Tumisang “Teenage” Orebone landed a penalty for Gaborone United FC bringing a cold chill amongst the Orapa United supporters who are in need of the win as the team readies itself for self-management, according to football fanatics.

Kabelo Seakanyeng gave Gaborone United the lead with penalty goal giving hope to Gaborone United FC towards the end of the first half of the match. Tendai Nyumasi however shattered their hopes once again by scoring a first half closer in the 40th minute equalizing the score board. Orapa United FC came back charged up in the second half giving their supporters a good game and pounding hard on the Gaborone United FC defence until a goal by Onkabetse Makgantai in the 54th minute shortly into the second half. Kobamelo Kebaikanye scored Orapa United’s 3rd goal in the 84h minute opening the lead even further and drawing closer to the Mascom Top 8 final.

With their fate sealed, the former champions scored a fourth goal taken in by Kobamelo Kebaikanye in the 90th minute giving in a 4 – 1 score, closing off the game with a 5 – 1 aggregate to Orapa United FC. We have a Mascom Top 8 Season 5 final repeat, who will win this time…