Khaled Babbou elected President of Rugby Africa

Jurie Roux (South Africa) and Andrew Owor (Uganda) join the Executive Board; Affiliation of Egypt is voted by show of hands with 25 votes in favor
MARRAKESH, Morocco, March 2, 2019/ -- Today, March 2, 2019, in Marrakech, was held the 13th General Assembly of Rugby Africa ( of which here are the highlights:

The elections of the new Executive Committee begin after the quorum is reached, the scrutineers appointed and the confirmed candidates.

The officers of the Executive Board are elected ex officio, unopposed:

President: Khaled Babbou (Tunisia)
Vice President: Andrew Owor (Uganda)
Treasurer: Tano Elvis (Ivory Coast)
Secretary General: Jurie Roux (South Africa)

The 27 voting members (26 present + 1 proxy) elect, by secret ballot, the 7 officers of the following Executive Committee:

Rolande Boro (Burkina Faso) with 26 votes
Aaron Jani (Zimbabwe) with 25 votes
Clement Sinkamba (Zambia) with 23 votes
Nasser Bougja (Morocco) with 22 votes
Herman M'Bonyo (DRC) with 21 votes
Paulina Lanco (Burundi) with 19 votes
Guedel N'Diaye (Senegal) with 18 votes

The affiliation of Egypt is voted by show of hands with 25 votes in favor.

Abdelaziz Bougja, outgoing President, is elected Honorary President unanimously.

Read More:

Original Article URL: