2019 Desert Race Makes Zana Great Again

The 2019 Toyota 1000 Desert Race will long be remembered as one of the toughest on record, thanks partly to the move to the Selebi Phikwe Town Council (SPTC) for the first , which played a key roll in the outcome of the race. The race started from Sam Sono Stadium and covered the northern, south western and eastern blocks, areas under the jurisdiction of Bobirwa and Palapye administrative authorities.  Selebi Phikwe was granted the rights to hold the event for the next three years. The race started with a pre-qualification race on June 21 which determined the starting line for the following day. vehicles would cover the first 500km on Saturday and continue with the last 500km on Sunday after a night’s stopover at a designated point along the route. The last lap of the race took place on the 23rd.

In the end it was Chris Visser and navigator Phillip Herselman who took the honours in their Class FIA Toyota Hilux, supported by Atlas Copco.  The pair are no strangers to the winners’ podium, but winning the tough 2019 Desert Race was a highlight for the Vryburg farmer. "Visser and Herselman were quick from the get-go, setting the fastest time in Friday’s qualifying race. They were kept honest, however, by the three factory Toyota Gazoo Racing SA crews of Henk Lategan/Brett Cummings, Giniel De Villiers/Dennis Murphy and Shameer Variawa/Juan Möhr, who occupied positions two to four after qualifying. A big thank you again to the people of Selibe Phikwe, SPEDU, BTO and all the stakeholders for being such great hosts and pulling such a wonderful spectacle of an event, till we meet again next year.